Where the Evans go Extreme…well sort of anyway!

For an extremely overweight, unfit old bird, I’ve been pretty pleased with my fitness levels during our South America trip. We’re definitely more sun lounger people than climbing mountain people, so my face has been red and sweaty on most of our hikes. One thing I have learnt from this trip is that I love being outdoors, pushing myself that little bit more than I thought I could.
Mr E patiently listens to my moans and groans, especially my most used phrase ” I think I’m going to have a heart attack!” good old Mr E I have no idea how he puts up with me!

image

Our visit to Mindo gave me the chance to give Ziplining a go, yes me swishing across ravines hanging on a line! The industrial size harness came out from the gear cupboard to holster my big bottom and off we went. I was nervous to start with but our guides Jilson and Hugo of Mindo Ziplines Tour where just fantastic.

image

For just $20 each we completed a course of 10 ziplines high above the forest canopy. As we walked along the route Hugo would point out tiny orchids hidden on the sides of the trees glistening in the rain.

image

I didn’t get the courage up to try the ‘Superman’ position, with my arms outstretched but it was fantastic. I’m so chuffed with myself for doing it as I am a super scaredy baby at theme parks! We got wet and muddy, my face was red from the excitement and it was a great way to end our trip on an adrenaline high.

One thought on “Where the Evans go Extreme…well sort of anyway!”

Leave a Reply

